Flying High – Nervous, Elated, Tense, and Having Fun all at the Same Time.

Recently I went for an introduction to flying lesson. It was a little scary because the instructor went through the controls and then said, “you’ll be doing most of the flying today.” I thought he was joking, but oh no… he meant it. I got to taxi down to the runway, where he took control for take off, but as soon as we were up in the air he handed over to me. It was awesome, an amazing feeling to know I was flying the plane, but I was very tense, thinking of the consequences of doing something wrong. Anyway, I survived.

How can I apply this experience to my writing? Well, if I could apply these emotions to my writing, the elation, the tension, having my characters in a dangerous situation, making them and my readers so acutely aware of the stakes, I would have one hell of a story. I will try to remember how this felt the next time I’m writing a scene like this, hopefully the feelings will flow through to my writing.

And here are some photos for you all.

 

Leave a Reply

