Are Reviews Important To You?

Hello Readers,

I thought I’d start this post by asking the question – Are reviews important to you?

Do you look at a book you are interested in and then read the reviews before deciding to purchase? Or do you read reviews which interest and inspire you to purchase a book you had not heard of? I am very interested to know the answers to these questions. Why? Because as an author it is drummed into me that reviews are like gold dust. It is said that they interest other readers and convince people to buy a book. Without reviews I will struggle or even crash and burn. These are the things I hear, anyway. Because of this I have been trying to drum up reviews for my books. I have placed a note inside the covers, asking readers to leave a review if they enjoyed the book. I have sent free copies to readers for their enjoyment, stating there is no obligation to leave a review, but it would be greatly appreciated if they did. But reviews are like that elusive winning lottery ticket, you know they are out there, they do exist, but they rarely show up. And so I get to the real point of this post. I would like to say a massive ‘thank you’ to all my readers who have left a review for one of my books. Whether it be on amazon, goodreads or a blog you run, it is one of the small things you have done to help me as a writer, and for that, I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

