Learning. Adapting. Improving.

Wow… What a busy weekend! Saturday, I drove a Lotus Elige around a skid pan. The first few circuits were with an ex race-driver, advising me on where I was going wrong and coaching me on how to improve. I had a few spin outs at the start, but a few hours later, I was driving the car alone, drifting around the slippery track, in full control of the vehicle. It was really exciting and so much fun, I just wanted to keep gliding around the circuit (but I had to come off and make way for the next bunch of thrill seekers). The excitement of sliding around in a lotus was followed up by a trip to the movies to see the new ‘John Wick’ movie. Now anyone who really knows me, knows that I like a bit of action, and this film did not let me down. It was full on, edge-of-the-seat, stuff. Car chases, explosions and plenty of violence from start to finish. No deep plot, not much to think about, just a sit-back-and-enjoy-the-thrills kind of movie. Not everyone’s cup of tea, but I loved it!

Sunday was a little more subdued. I went to a writer’s workshop titled ‘From Character to Plot’, run by Louise Cusack. It was an informative workshop and really opened my eyes to the fact that, as a pantser (someone who writes by the seat of their pants), I do not put a lot of effort into my character development. To sum things up, I went from learning some advanced driving skills to learning some advanced writing skills. I think I even learnt a little about myself. I’ve come to the realisation that my love of action and adventure lends itself to a tolerance for undeveloped characters and plot.

Now, this leads me on nicely to my next point. As you know, I released The Crimson Guild back in March. Well the reviews are starting to trickle in, and guess what? They’re saying that they are enjoying the fast paced story, but the characters feel under-developed. In my opinion, this workshop could not have come at a better time. If I had completed it before I wrote this book, I probably would not have paid much attention to the characterisation content of the workshop. But having listened to feedback, I paid more attention to this content. As a result, I now have some new skills and I’m better equipped, so my commitment to my readers is to work on improving. I will certainly be putting more effort into my character development in future.

To those that have written reviews, thank you. It’s great to hear that people are enjoying my work, but it’s just as important to receive constructive criticism. If you’ve read The Crimson Guild, I’d love to know what you thought. And if you have not read it yet, but you’re interested, you can purchase a copy here.

Leave a Reply

