Book Review: Ground Rules for Writers

Ground Rules for Writers: A QUICK AND EASY REFERENCE GUIDE FOR ALL THE PAINFUL PUNCTUATION, GHASTLY GRAMMAR, AND PESKY SOUND ALIKE WORDS, FRACKING UP YOUR ... (Your Easy Writing Reference Series Book 1)Ground Rules for Writers: A QUICK AND EASY REFERENCE GUIDE FOR ALL THE PAINFUL PUNCTUATION, GHASTLY GRAMMAR, AND PESKY SOUND ALIKE WORDS, FRACKING UP YOUR … by Susan Ball

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Ground Rules for Writers by Susan Ball and Sheryl Wright is a quick and easy reference guide for writers on commonly confused words and the rules of writing. English is a second language.

The Bad Stuff: If your native language is English and you had a decent education, you are likely to know a lot of the information in this book.

The Good Stuff: Even with English being my native language I found this book useful. I do not recall being taught half this information in my English class at school, but that might be because I was more interested in chatting to the girls; maybe I should have paid more attention.

I almost didn’t download this book, thinking it would not be much use. I was wrong, and I’m so glad I did download it. Considering this came up as a freebie on Amazon when I was browsing for another title, it was well worth it. In my opinion, the information within this book is good and unless you have studied English in depth, there is something in this book that will be useful to you. It will be especially useful if English is not your native tongue or if you had low results in English and are looking to improve. I’m giving this a pleasantly surprising 4 out of 5 golden bookmarks.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

