Oiling The Machine On My Journey.

oil-can

Photo by Daniel Go

Hello readers, I have been working on a number of things lately, including writing more stories. I’m currently about 4000 words into a short story I started about 6 months ago and put down to mature after about 1500 words. I’m also about 3000 words into a new story.

In this post though, I wanted to focus a little on how I am trying to improve my business of being a writer. So, what have I been up to? Well for a start, I have now registered a PO Box. I did this for the sole reason of setting up a Mail Chimp account to help build a mailing list and anti-spam laws require you to provide an address that is displayed on all your e-mails. Having a Mail Chimp account will enable me to build an e-mail list of my readers, so I can notify them (via email) when I release a new book or provide a special offer. For instance, I may look for readers to read a story I have just completed and provide feedback before it’s released. I may offer a free copy of a new book for an honest review on Goodreads or Amazon. I may run a giveaway, etc… that sort of thing.

Okay, now I have my PO Box and a Mail Chimp account. I’ve linked a free anthology that contains short stories from a number of upcoming Australian authors. This is a kind of thank you for those that subscribe to my mailing list. If you are interested and would like a copy of the book, you can sign up by clicking here, or if you are interested in signing up, but do not want the anthology then you can sign up here.

The next step was to add my PO Box address to my social media sites and my e-mail signature. I chose not to add this to all of my social media sites, just the main ones. After doing all this, I have posted some blogs/messages on social media to create awareness of the book giveaway to kick-start my mailing list.

That’s about it for this update, so until next time, be lucky.

Leave a Reply

