Looking To Self-Publish Through KDP? This Might Help.

Establishing a Kindle Direct Publishing Account:-

Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) is the site I use to self-publish on Amazon. If you go to KDP.amazon.com, there is a short information video you can watch about KDP. To get an account, you just need to hit the sign up button on the above noted page and fill in the details. Once your account is set up, all you need to do to publish a book is click on ‘Create new title’ and input the appropriate details for your book. This will include the title, uploading your prepared book content and cover, confirming your publishing rights and setting the pricing and royalty information. Then you can either ‘save draft’ or ‘save and publish’. It can take up to 48 hours for your book to become available, but the first book I published was up in around 30 minutes. It is also possible to amend your uploaded content at any time after publishing, but this takes a short time to update on the site.

I would like to note that there is a previewer tool you can use to preview your book before you publish and I recommend you use it. It seems to work well and I have not had issues with it. The ‘Look Inside’ previewer available to customers on the sale page, is a different thing all together. This ‘Look Inside’ viewer does not seem to read all HTML/CSS code and can show your book content quite differently from the way it appears in the publishing previewer. In my experience, the formatting inside my e-books has worked fine on the publishing previewer and all devices I have tested it on, but in the ‘Look Inside’ Previewer – the tool buyers use to check out your book before they purchase – I have had formatting issues. My problems has been where I have formatted images to a smaller size, the ‘Look Inside’ previewer appears to have ignored the code that reduced the images and blown them up to their full size again. I have resorted to removing the images from the first 10% of my book because the ‘Look Inside’ feature only shows the first 10% of the content. Not the desired option, but a temporary work-around until I can work out how to fix this issue. Other authors have noted that the text formatting in their books has changed in the ‘Look Inside’ viewer, but I have not experienced this problem myself. My advice is to check the ‘Look Inside’ preview of your book after it becomes available on Amazon, and if there is a problem, try to fix it or come up with a work around. Otherwise it may cost you a sale.

Everything you need to know to set up a KDP account can be found at:- kdp.amazon.com

Leave a Reply

