Is It Weird To Read In One Genre, Yet Write In Another?

How does this work? I love to read fantasy, give me wizards, give me elves, give me goblins, trolls, magic and medieval weapons. Link it all together with a good story and I’m in for the read. But, more and more I’m finding that when I write, I turn to horror. Why? I don’t know. I really don’t enjoy reading horror (unless it’s mixed with fantasy of course). So why am I writing it? It truly baffles me, but for some reason I enjoy writing horror. The first book I wrote was fantasy, and while I enjoyed writing some parts, I struggled through the rest. I’ve yet to release it into the world for all to read. In fact, I still haven’t had it edited. It seems there is always something else I have to do first. But, I have since written a couple of short horror stories, one I have already released and the other is coming out soon. So why do I struggle with fantasy and not horror? Is it because I like fantasy so much that I’m anxious mine might not be good enough? I’m not sure, but I know that after all the time and effort I’ve put into it, I need to get my arse into gear and get my fantasy out there.

Does anyone else have this problem or it is just me?

2 thoughts on “Is It Weird To Read In One Genre, Yet Write In Another?

  1. I read and write fantasy, but I also really enjoy reading other genres too, especially crime and action/adventure. I don’t really have an interest in writing in those genres though, maybe because I don’t have enough/any ‘real world’ knowledge. That’s what I like about fantasy – you can bring almost any themes you want into it.

    It’s an interesting question you’ve asked. I think if you enjoy writing horror and are having success with your stories, keep going with them.

Leave a Reply

