Book Review – Bleach Vol 1:Strawberry and the Soul Reapers by Tite Kubo

Bleach, Vol. 1: Strawberry and the Soul Reapers (Bleach, #1)Bleach, Vol. 1: Strawberry and the Soul Reapers by Tite Kubo

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Okay, I’m a little behind on my Goodreads reading challenge and need to make up some ground. So I have switched to Manga for my next review. Bleach Vol 1 starts the story of Ichigo Kurosaki, a boy who sees ghosts. An unexpected encounter with Rukia Kuchiki and Ichigo becomes a Soul Reaper, hunting evil spirits that eat the souls of humans with psychic energy.

The Bad Stuff: For some, the reading from right to left, starting at what we from the western world would call ‘the back of the book,’ may be hard. Other will enjoy this and find it adds to their enjoyment. For me, there is nothing bad about this, it’s manga! Oh… yeah – I’ve found that you either like manga or you don’t. I like it, so it’s all good news for me. If you are one of those that dislike it, you’re probably not going to read it anyway.

The Good Stuff: This is manga at its best, it’s easy to read, well illustrated and witty, providing some laugh out load moments. The characters are fun and will keep you amused as you follow them through the book.

I loved Vol 1 and I’m looking forward to moving through the next 20 volumes on my book shelf. I’m giving it 4 out of 5 Golden bookmarks.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

