Do You Judge a Book by its Reviews?

Picture by Sebastien Wiertz

Picture by Sebastien Wiertz

Reviews. I’m told they can make a huge difference to an author. They can increase your visibility as a writer and help push sales of your books. But do they really? With all the stories I’ve heard lately of people paying for reviews, I guess there must be some truth to it. Personally, I don’t look at the reviews. If a book cover or a title catches my attention I will read the back blurb. If that sounds interesting I will read the first few pages. If the book hasn’t hooked me by then, it’s not likely I will read it. Something I find more powerful than a cover or a title is a recommendation. If a friend recommends a book to me, I will want to read it. If several friends recommend a book to me, I will read it. Why? Because I trust their opinions? Yes. Because I don’t want to miss out on a good thing? Also a yes. Because it gives us something to talk about? That’s a yes too.

So what about you, do you read the reviews? If not, how do you choose your books?

3 thoughts on “Do You Judge a Book by its Reviews?

  1. I don’t read a lot of reviews, because the back cover/blurb usually tells me whether or not I’d be interested (more often not, because I’m picky as all hell).

Leave a Reply

