Thoughts on a Page – Looking Back at Whats to Come

Photo by Renaud Camus

Photo by Renaud Camus

Hello readers, writers, followers and those of you just stopping by. I have tried to get some reading done to meet my Goodreads writing challenge for the year. I don’t think I am going to make it, with seven books left to read in two and a half months, but that won’t stop me trying. As well as reading, I’ve been trying to get some writing done, the combination of which has been enough to see me neglecting my blog a little. Hence I thought I should post something a bit more substantial than another quote. So I got to thinking about what I have done that could provide some content for my blog and it struck me. While I was writing the other night, I thought I would go back and look at something I had written in the past and see just how bad it was, see how far I have come, and to take a look at the direction I’m travelling. I turned to a short story called ‘Low Life’ that I wrote for an anthology called ’18’, published in May 2014. I have not read this piece since its publication and I have to admit, I was pleasantly surprised. I actually enjoyed it. It wasn’t written as well as it could be, and in hindsight, I would make a few changes if I were writing it now, but that’s the beauty of it. I can see my mistakes and I know I wouldn’t make them now, that tells me I have improved. I have come a fair way since then, not just with my writing, but also with my knowledge of other things. Things like editing, marketing, formatting and more. I can look back and be proud of how far I have come. I may not have made good use of all that knowledge yet, but I have a better understanding of how to do things when I am ready to do so. Who knows, if I look forward a year or two, I could be writing another post like this one, looking back at what I have accomplished through hard work and persistence. And maybe I will have finally published a novel. So to all the writers out there, maybe you should go back and see how far you have come, then take a look at where you are going, where you want to be. There’s only one way to get there, keep working for it and never give up on your dreams.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on a Page – Looking Back at Whats to Come

  1. I like the way you went back & looked at your previous work just to see the growth you have gained in that time. I believe that everyone should go back to see where you were & where you are now. Growth is a big part of us, whether it is writing or our personal self.

    • I agree, it is good to look back. I’d say growth comes from learning, and I love to learn. I’m constantly looking for ways to improve and looking back is a way to see how far you’ve come. Thanks for commenting.

  2. Aloha Allan,
    I just came across this post – good piece!

    Initially my mind seized up at, “Holy shit, I wrote this!” With effort I got the gears turning again and realized, “No, Allan wrote it, but I certainly could have.”

    I too look back over things I have written. Occasionally a piece makes me think, “Wow, this is good. You nailed it.” But other pieces send me scrambling through my records with the frantic question, “You didn’t really send this crap to anyone did you?”

    I think I’m getting better over time – just apparently not good enough yet.

    To me the path to becoming a wealthy and famous best-selling writer appears as a road through a desert. I’m standing somewhere on it. Looking back I can see some hill-crests of minor successes, but I can no longer see the beginning. It feels like I’ve come far. However looking ahead, the road quickly disappears into the heat shimmers and I have no idea how much further I have to go.

    It is frustrating. I just finish another cup of blind faith and continue on – one sentence at a time.

    Allan, your post pulled all of this out of me. That’s what good writing is supposed to do – good job.

    A Hui Hou,
    Wayne

    • Thanks Wayne, I appreciate you taking the time to comment and thoroughly enjoyed reading your response. I agree with your summary on becoming a writer too, always looking into the haze no matter how far you get down the path. As frustrating as it can be, I think that it shows the commitment us writers have to bettering ourselves.

Leave a Reply

