Happenings in the Life of an Author – Part II

by Gonzalo Viera Azpiroz - The Commons

After the recent update on my current position, I thought I would recap on what I’ve been doing over the last 2 years leading up to this point. So here it is, so far I have:

  • Joined a writers’ group and attended critique sessions on a regular basis
  • Gained feedback on my novel and edited (again and again and again)
  • Written and published a story in the anthology ’18’
  • Presented a critique session with my writers’ group at the QLD Writers’ festival
  • Set up a Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) account
  • Set up an Amazon Authors Page
  • Set up a Goodreads account and posted book reviews
  • Set up a Goodreads Author page
  • Set up a WordPress blog and maintained a constant blogging presence to build my Author platform
  • Set up a Facebook account as an Author
  • Set up a Facebook Author Page
  • Set up an e-mail account for myself as an Author (including a signature sign off with links to my social media)
  • Created the back blurb for my novel

On top of all this, I’ve also researched:

  • Formatting with HTML
  • Marketing
  • Writing techniques
  • Story arcs
  • Writing book reviews and much more

I’ve been holding off on getting an Employer ID Number (EIN) from the IRS which will prevent getting slugged with a high tax rate for sales in the US, but I will set this up before I publish.

And that’s pretty much it in a nut shell.

2 thoughts on “Happenings in the Life of an Author – Part II

  1. It would take an awfully big nut to fit all that activity within its shell my friend! I dont think even a coconut would come close

Leave a Reply

