Book review: The Dragon’s Path by Daniel Abraham

The Dragon's Path (The Dagger and the Coin, #1)The Dragon’s Path by Daniel Abraham

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

The Dragon’s path follows four different characters along their journeys as war threatens to grip the land.

The Bad Stuff: Maybe I’m becoming a grumpy old codger, but I struggled to get through this book as the story switched between the four characters, again and again. While the characters were well developed, I wanted something more from the storyline and less head hopping would have made this a more enjoyable read for me.

The Good Stuff: The story was well written and I found most of the characters interesting. Marcus and Cithrin held my attention, but Cithrin was by far my favourite and I wanted to see more of her in this book. I think a lot of people will love this novel and maybe I just had my grumpy pants on when I read this one, because as I reflect on the content I find I remember more than I thought I would.

I enjoyed the prologue to this book and was expecting to enjoy the rest of it, unfortunately it didn’t live up to my expectations. I think that if the prologue had not been there, I wouldn’t have built up a preconception about what I was going to get from this book and I probably would have enjoyed it more. I’m only giving it 2 out of 5 golden bookmarks, at least until I take my grumpy pants off.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

