Thoughts on a Page.

Photo by Renaud Camus

Photo by Renaud Camus

Sometimes I feel like I’m pushing forwards in leaps and bounds with my writing, and then there are the times when I feel like I haven’t done a thing. I fall into the later of the two scenarios at the moment. I know what to do, I know how to do it, I just can’t be stuffed doing it right now.

I come home from work, cream crackered after sitting in front of a computer for 8 hours. I force myself to sit at my home computer for a few hours more. There are distractions everywhere, pulling my attention from the task at hand – my writing. Then there’s the ‘work’ us authors do. The blog posts, the e-mails, FB, reading, critiquing. It all takes us away from our writing. I seem to be constantly asking myself, “Am I making excuses not to write?” I know the answer to that question is yes, sometimes. Other times I’m just too tired and can’t concentrate on my writing.

I find I have so much going on in my life at present that I have to use my writing time to do other things. I’m still trying to sell my old house. I’ve been talking to another agent to try and shift it, it’s been on the market for nearly 3 months now and still hasn’t sold, in what I’ve been told is a hot market. I need a new car, the old one is constantly threatening to break down on me, it takes 4 or 5 attempts to start most times.

These are all first world problems, I know, and I’m not complaining about it. I’m just thinking that I may need to prioritize things and get them sorted, maybe put my writing on hold and stop beating myself up over the fact that I haven’t written anything today. But then there will always be something that needs doing.

How do you do it? How do you keep doing your thing when life takes over?

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on a Page.

  1. Aloha Allan,

    I could have written your post, not as eloquently as you, but I know the feeling.

    I am also working on my “Name Recognition” and the task is hurting my writing. I have concluded that, “Social Media is a black hole that will eventually consume all of the time in the Universe.” When I get finished with it each day my creative batteries are drained – there is no power left for my stories.

    When faced with dead creative batteries I return to mechanics, I go back and edit the last chapter. This at least keeps me “in the story”. And I get to console myself with the idea that, “Some days my story gets longer – other days it gets better.”

    A Hui Hou,
    Wayne

    • I’m sure you would have written the post just as well Wayne. It sure takes a lot of commitment to keep up with the social media side of things, that’s for sure. I have to question if it is all worth it some times, especially when it takes me away from my writing. Thanks for your comment mate, I think a nice relaxing game of golf might help you recharge those batteries 🙂
      Allan

    • Fabulous post Allan – thanks. I relate to so much of this… Sometimes it is hard to find the energy for writing after a full day at work, then minding kids, etc. There are some times in my life when I am getting lots of writing done and it feels fantastic, vs the times when the doldrums hit.
      Some great insights from Wayne too…
      “Social Media is a black hole that will eventually consume all of the time in the Universe.”
      Very true, although I will add the proviso that social media can also be a rewarding black hole (just needs to be used judiciously, perhaps like chocolate sprinkles on coffee – not so much that the ‘writing’ stops being coffee… and the chocolate takes over).
      “Some days my story gets longer – other days it gets better.”
      And on the really good days my story gets longer (ie more complete) AND better 🙂

      • Thanks for taking the time to comment Emily. I think sometimes when I don’t feel like writing, it is good to take a break from it and focus more on the social media side. The pull of writing always drags me back and usually with some fresh, new ideas 🙂

    • Aloha Wayne or should I say G’day mate,
      Your last comment said you were working on name recognition, so I thought I would touch base with you and see what insights you have learned since then. I’m interested as I have been toying with the idea of using a pen name for some time, a name that I think has a better ring to it. Can you give me any insights?

  2. Reblogged this on Emily Arden, author and commented:
    Great post Allan Walsh – I relate to so much of this… Sometimes it is hard to find the energy for writing after a full day at work, then minding kids, etc. There are some times in my life when I am getting lots of writing done and it feels fantastic, vs the times when the doldrums hit.
    Check out the first comment from Wayne Halm too – some great insights there:
    “Social Media is a black hole that will eventually consume all of the time in the Universe.”
    Very true, although I will add the proviso that social media can also be a rewarding black hole (just needs to be used judiciously, perhaps like chocolate sprinkles on coffee – not so much that the ‘writing’ stops being coffee… and the chocolate takes over).
    “Some days my story gets longer – other days it gets better.”
    And on the really good days my story gets longer (ie more complete) AND better 🙂

Leave a Reply

