Book Review – The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1)The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss is one of those stories that is loved by many. It is the story of Kvothe, a legend in his own right, hiding out in a small village. But trouble has a way of finding heros.

The Bad Stuff: For me, it was the way this book was written that detracted from my enjoyment of a good read. A large chunk of the tale unravels as the main character, Kvothe, narrates his life story to a scribe. This didn’t work for me.

The Good Stuff: This is a great fantasy story with an array of interesting characters, good and bad alike. A travelling troupe, music, magic and intrigue are all wrapped up in this novel.

There are many fans out there that love this novel, but while I liked the story itself, I struggled with the style in which it was written. I give it 3 out of 5 golden bookmarks.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

