Book Review: On Writing by Stephen King.

On Writing: A Memoir of the CraftOn Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

On Writing is half a tutorial on how to be a successful writer and half auto-biography of Mr Kings life.

The Bad Stuff: For me, this book was so highly recommended, that my expectations were huge and I ended up being a little disappointed. I did not agree with all of Mr King’s opinions and I sometimes struggle with his writing style, though evidently he is a great author and has a lot to teach.

The Good Stuff: There are some nuggets of information in this book that will help any author. Mr King shares his knowledge of successful techniques with us, as well as his personal experiences both in writing and his private life.

I enjoyed the auto-biography part of this book more than anything else, it was very interesting. I was expecting more from the ‘writer’s guide’ section of the book though. Don’t get me wrong, there is some very good info in this book, but I had heard a lot about it and I guess it’s kind of like when you are told how great a movie is and you go in with really high expectations, then you feel a little let down. I think I would have appreciated it a whole lot more if I had no expectations of what I would find between the pages. I’m giving it 3 out of 5 golden bookmarks.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

