Update On My Life As An Author (And Some Time Management Tips).

"Image courtesy of Gualberto 107 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net".

“Image courtesy of Gualberto 107 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net”.

Hello ladies and gents, I thought it was about time I gave you all an update on what’s been happening in my world. To start with, I think I mentioned previously that I am in the process of building a new home. If you have not done this before, it usually starts when you find your land. Then you go through the process of getting a loan to buy it with enough to pay for the build on top. Then you choose your house design, pick the bricks, roof, tiles, fittings, colours, bench tops, doors, electrical, etc… That takes a while. Then you sit around waiting until the purchase goes through so the builder can start building and bang, things start moving along.

My new place should be ready in about 4 weeks. This presents another problem – I have had to do some minor repairs and redecorating to put my current home on the market. So now I have open house viewings, house tidying every other day, yard maintenance, etc… and once I get a buyer I will have to arrange for a solicitor, removals, power disconnection, Internet disconnection, reconnections at the new place, etc… I’m also still working at my full time job, which means I have to do all these things after hours or at the weekend and I also balance my time rotating one week with my fantastic lady and the next week doing my writing.

Forewarned is forearmed. Knowing I had all this to do and not wanting to lose momentum on my blogs, I took advantage of WordPress’ scheduling feature. I drafted a heap of blog posts and scheduled them for future dates. I also cheated a little on my blog content too, by using short quotes and reviews of books I have already read, so all I had to do was post the review. I’m still reading too, so I figure I might as well use it to my advantage in these busy times and blog a quick review once I finish each book.

I apologize if the content of my posts has not been great recently, but hopefully you are enjoying the reviews. By scheduling these posts, I have been able to continue to do all the above, attend my writers’ group, dabble in a new short story I am working on and still make time to edit my first novel ‘Blood Rage’ (based on the feedback from the Beta read). I’m also happy to say I have almost finished editing, and when I have completed the edit, I intend to send ‘Blood Rage’ out to a professional for copy editing. The editing process has taken me a lot longer than I anticipated, one reason is that this is my first novel and I have learnt so much since writing the first draft that I have re-written it over and over, but I do not want to release ‘Blood Rage’ until I’m happy with it. I still have to come up with my blurb for the back cover (which I will post when done) and some cover designs, and I’m hoping you will all help me out when I get to that stage, by voting on the cover you prefer.

I still have a fair bit of downtime with my house stuff going on, and I have run out of scheduled posts now. I will try to get a few more up over the weekend, but if I miss a post or two over the next month or so, you will know why. I fully intend to have ‘Blood Rage’ released this year, so I may have to make some sacrifices with my time, but I hope you will look back and think it is worth it when you finally get to read ‘Blood Rage’.

Leave a Reply

