Book Review: Castle Of Wizardry – David Eddings

Castle of Wizardry (The Belgariad, #4)Castle of Wizardry by David Eddings

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Castle of Wizardry is an epic fantasy novel. It has a prophecy, a magical orb that only an innocent child can touch, sorcerers, magic and all that stuff that makes up a good fantasy.

The Bad Stuff: The writing style can have a tendency to tell rather than show. I have a personal dislike of strange spelling for names eg.’Ctuchik’. This held me back from immersing myself into the book at the initial stages, but I got over it as I read on.

The Good Stuff: David Eddings writes a solid fantasy story with well developed characters in a well developed world. He tells a good story that will pull many readers in, even if they do not enjoy the style of writing.

I enjoyed this book, David Eddings makes good use of his vocabulary in the novel and in my opinion, despite the tendency to tell, this book is still a thoroughly enjoyable read. 3 out of 5 golden bookmarks.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

