Book Review – The Magician’s Apprentice

The Magician's Apprentice (Black Magician, #0.5)The Magician’s Apprentice by Trudi Canavan

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I have read several Trudi Canavan books, the best in my opinion being the Black Magician Triliogy, yet this book did not have the same level of enjoyment for me.

The negatives:
Trudi uses the characters internal thoughts to tell readers how the characters are feeling or where the plot could go. This internal dialogue doesn’t seem to be natural to me and I struggle with this technique as a reader.

The positives:
Trudi’s stories are always well constructed, she has good quality cover designs and her books are well copy-edited. She has created a believable fantasy world with starkly different cultures, making good use of the conflicts that arise between them. It is clearly evident that as an author, she knows this world inside and out. The setting is familiar across all of her books (or at least with the ones I have read), which makes it easy to fall straight back into the fantasy world. In this book Trudi has covered topics that are an issue in some modern day cultures and have been prevalent in Western World society, both in the past, and to a lesser extent in current times.

On the whole, I never really got hooked into this book the way I have with some of her others. I will add that I don’t think I’m exactly the target audience for this novel which is probably why I didn’t get into it. I’m only giving this one 2 out of 5 golden bookmarks.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

