Book Review – The Immortal Darkness

The Immortal Darkness (The Kasdtien Cycle, #2)The Immortal Darkness by Christopher Kneipp

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The Immortal Darkness is a tale about a boy destined to save not only the world, but a parallel world too – from his evil self. The story has the magic of a new world mixed with the technology of Earth, a delightfully evil antagonist, a dash of romance and a sprinkling of humour.

The Bad Stuff:
I feel the cover art could have been better. As mentioned above, there are a lot of unusual words that have been used to create another race/world/culture, which initially, I found distracting. There are a few instances of ‘typos’ scattered through the book, where a word or a letter are missing, disrupting the flow of some sentences.

The Good Stuff:
This book is an interesting and original tale. The characters are well defined with their own distinct personalities. The author has created a new world with its own cultures and language/terminology, which while I found distracting at first, I now believe adds to the story and will be a huge positive to some.

This is a title from an independent author and friend of mine, Christopher Kneipp. I have to admit that when I started reading this book, I doubted whether I was actually going enjoy it, as there are a lot of strange names and words(which I personally don’t like as they pull me out of a story). At some point though (and I can’t even tell you where in the story this happened), I was hooked! I forgot about the strange names/words and found myself engrossed in the story. If you can get past the few ‘typos’, this book is well worth the read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’m giving it 4 out of 5 golden bookmarks.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

