Reflections on 2014

Picture by i k o

Picture by i k o

Hi everyone,

I thought for this post, I would take a moment to reflect on what I have done over the last 12 months. I feel like I haven’t done much writing this year. I feel like I could have done so much more. But when I look back I can see just how much I have achieved and you know what… I am proud of myself.

So here are some of my highlights:

1. I started this blog and maintained regular posts (an achievement on its own).
2. I published a short story titled ‘Low Life’ in ’18’, an anthology by Vision Writers.
3. I attended the Brisbane Writer’s festival as a contributor.
4. I have had chapters of my work critiqued.
5. I have edited my work (over and over and over again).
6. I’ve had my novel beta read.
7. I’ve commenced the final edit of my novel.
8. I have attempted cover designs (and realized I probably need a professional to do it).
9. I have learned grammar rules I wasn’t aware of.
10. I’ve read a stack of books on Writing, Publishing and Marketing.
11. I’ve listened to pod casts and read articles on blogging.
12. I created an e-book test version of my novel and identified formatting issues.
13. I have read up on formatting using HTML code.
14. I have beta read 3 novels for fellow authors.
15. I have read numerous published novels from a selection of authors.
16. I’ve created a Facebook page.
17. I’ve set up a Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP) account.
18. I’ve created author pages on Goodreads and Amazon.
19. I have tried my hand at listening to audio-books.
20. I have grown as an author and increased my knowledge.

I encourage you all to take a step back and look at what you have achieved over the last 12 months. Be proud of what you have accomplished, even if you did not meet all of your goals. Stop beating yourselves up over the things you didn’t do and pat yourselves on the back for what you have done.

I did, now I’m looking forward to what can be achieved in 2015.

3 thoughts on “Reflections on 2014

  1. You have accomplished a great deal over the last year Allan, and unlike a lot of us you have actually begun to live your dreams and aspirations. You are not just thinking about it or talking about it, you are doing something about it, so congratulations on a job well done so far, and may 2015 bring you closer to achieving great success’s.

    • Thank you for your kind words Sue, if I don’t keep plugging away at it I will never achieve my goals. And as you can see, when you take lots of little steps and look back at them together, it all adds up.

Leave a Reply

