How do you pass the time when waiting?

image

I blogged a few posts ago about my novel being sent out to Beta readers. I am very keen to get their feedback, but while I have been waiting, I decided to take a break from my writing. I’m really not one to sit around doing nothing, I get bored quite quickly. So, the week before last I took my two daughters down to Sydney for a short holiday. I even got them tickets to the EB Games Expo, which they absolutely loved – I’m not sure if their highlight was seeing Bajo & Hex from ‘Good Game’ or the maze promoting ‘The Evil Within’ (If you’re a gamer, you’ll know what I’m taking about). My personal favourite activity was the jet boat across Darling Harbour.

I honestly cannot remember the last time I had a holiday, so it was a long time coming and well worth the wait. And, now I’m back, I have managed to watch a couple of movies, read some more of the three books I’m currently working through and even taken the time to catch up with my sister and her hubby (great lunch by the way guys, thank you).

As I wait for the feedback to come rolling in, I can’t help but think of ideas for my next book and short stories. I find that I want to start writing again and it’s quite encouraging to know that when I stop, the flood gates open up with new ideas. I think I may just have to put pen to paper and pass the time now. Who knows, I may even enter Nanowrimo this year!

What do you do to pass the time when you are waiting for something?

Leave a Reply

