Research methods come in all shapes and forms.

(Picture by Frank Lindecke)

Hmmm…I have a confession to make. I went out for a drink on Friday to catch up with a few mates I’ve known for several years now. It’s one of those things we do every six months or so and I should know better. One drink leads to another and before I know it’s 2.00am and I’m drunk as a skunk. That’s the fun part, but then there is the next morning to face. I don’t know about you, but I don’t pull up as well as I used to after a few drinks.
Anyway, the next morning not only did I feel hung over, I felt really guilty. I spent the whole day sleeping it off, in recovery mode, feeling sorry for myself. I could have spent that time much more productively, writing, editing, or blogging. Yes I enjoyed myself, but that time has slipped away and I did nothing constructive with it.
So to make myself feel better I’m going to mark it down as research. I’m going to remember how I felt, both physically and psychologically. I will remember how much I didn’t do and how much I could have done. I dare say it won’t deter me the next time the boys want to get together for a few drinks, but at least it won’t be a total waste if I can recount the thoughts and feelings of both the night before and the day after. And who knows, maybe, just maybe, I’ll take it a bit easier next time.

Leave a Reply

