An Interview with Christopher Kneipp

 

An

Interview with Christopher Kneipp.

Christopher Kneipp is a mild mannered, talented, Brisbane author who is set to release his new novel “ONE” in December. This is the third book in his Kasdtien Cycle series and promises to be a great addition and powerful conclusion to this fantasy trilogy. So what better time for me to catch up for a chat with the author than in the lead up to the books release.

Allan Walsh: Hi Chris, I heard a rumour that you have been writing this series since you were a wee lad. Is this true? And if so, what has kept you motivated to finish the series over all these years?

Christopher Kneipp: Not a rumour. This story has been rattling around in my head since I was 15. I finished the first draft of book one when I was 21 and then, dissatisfied with the result, burned every copy. It was another 15 years before I returned to it. Some stories just won’t let you walk away. I’ve grown a lot older since then, but my main character, Mark, never really grew up. As for what keeps me going, the characters keep me writing. Sometimes a story will just grab you by the throat and demand to be written.

Allan Walsh: According to your webpage – http://parttimelunatic.wordpress.com, you were born in the Sydney, live in Brisbane and have a passion for the outdoors. Do you think the Australian bush and the cities you have lived in have inspired your writing in any way?

Christopher Kneipp: I think any writer is affected by the places they live or where they have been. Sydney and the Blue Mountains play an important part in the Kasdtien Cycle. The Mountains in particular were the first place I really discovered the magic of the Australian bush.

Allan Walsh: When you’re not writing, I would hazard a guess that you are probably reading. This poses the question – who are your favourite authors and why?

Christopher Kneipp: I have a soft spot for some of the old school fantasy authors, J.R.R Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Michael Moorcock, etc, but it was Stephen Donaldson’s Thomas Covenant Chronicles that first made me think, I need to write. Also Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea books and David Eddings works have had a lasting influence on me. Currently I’m reading Marianne De Pierres, sci fi western Peacemaker.

Allan Walsh: When you started the first book in the Kasdtien Cycle – Parallel, did you already have a plan? Did you know where the story was going and where it would end? Or have you written it by the seat of your pants, getting the words down on paper as they have popped into your head?

Christopher Kneipp: I really tend to do a bit of both. I know exactly where I want a story to start and where I want it to end. Connecting the two is more of a seat of the pants thing. I’m usually a few chapters ahead of what I’m writing, plot wise, and I can see how to connect everything but I like to let the story reveal surprises as it unfolds, even to me.

Allan Walsh: Now that you have wrapped up the series, what is the next project on the horizon for you? Will we see more from the characters, Mark and Angelie? Or do you have something new you are itching to get down on paper?

Christopher Kneipp: When the trilogy is done and dusted, that’s it for the characters. After 35 years, I think I can let them get on with their lives. I’m torn between two projects next. One is a psi noir thriller called Harmony, the other is a dystopian tale that begins with six short stories that interconnect, followed by what happens to the characters when they all meet. Hard choice. For now I’m just focussing on One, getting it finished and ready for a December release.

Allan Walsh: Well Chris, thank you very much for your time, it has been a pleasure. I wish you all the best with the release of your newest novel – One.

For all you avid readers out there, if you are interested in picking Christopher’s story up from where it started, you can grab a copy of Parallel, the 1st ebook in the series, from Amazon for the measly sum of $1.05. And if that isn’t value enough, to promote the release of the third book, Christopher is having a free giveaway of the second ebook in the series– The Immortal Darkness. The free giveaway is available from Amazon today 1st July & tomorrow 2nd July. So make sure grab your copy here, The Kasdtien Cycle Series is well worth the read.

Leave a Reply

