How do you find the time to write?

(Photo by William Warby)

So here I am with a spare ten minutes and I find myself writing a blog post. I work a full time job – 40 hours a week, and have worked overtime the last 2 weekends. That’s 13 days straight so far. Add that to maintaining the yard, cleaning the house and caring for my kids, and I feel like I should be sitting on a unicycle, juggling eggs while I balance a book on the end of my nose!

I have stacks of books on my shelves, the covers unopened. A pile of DVD’s on the coffee table waiting to be watched. A novel on my laptop waiting to be edited. Heaps more books on my Kindle, waiting to be read. Critiques to be done for my writers group. And I haven’t mentioned writing anything new yet. How am I going to get through it all?

I don’t have all the answers, I’ll just keep plugging away, one thing at a time. But I am interested to know how you manage your time. So, how do you organise yourself so that you have time to write?

5 thoughts on “How do you find the time to write?

  1. I felt the same way and even though I liked writing at night, it never happened because I was too exhausted. I started getting up an hour earlier every morning and after my first cup of coffee (a necessity), I’d write. It took a while to get into that groove, but I kept trying. Now it’s become a habit. Good luck on finding something that works for you.

    • Thanks Dawne, I find the evening is the best time for me, but there is always those times when I am just too tired. I have heard a lot of writers get up early to write and it seems to work well for them. Maybe I will give it a go. 🙂

  2. I just set aside the time, come up with schedule and stick to it. Try an hour a day to begin with. Whilst an hour a day may not seem like a long time you’ll be surprised now much you can get done!

    • Thanks for your comment. I am spending an hour or two each evening on editing at present. I know there is light at the end of the tunnel, as once the editing is done, I will have that time for writing. It just feels so hard to fit everything in sometimes, doesn’t it. I will persevere and maybe try rescheduling my writing time to see what works best. Thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

